top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Follow-up visit Letter from Sam 11/28

Hey sis was nice seeing you today:)

So like I was saying being in prison hasn't been all bad. After about one year I've become numb to the outside world and have settled into my current existence.

I have managed to compartmentalize my suffering and turn it into optimism.

I've made good use of my time by reading lots of physcology books which benefit me in business as well as in dealing with my current impossible situation, its added so much value to my outlook on my life!

Being disconnected from the craziness of the outside world, the current climate out there from what I can see in here seems divided, anxious, upset etc. from what I hear and see on the news it feels like prison is more relaxed then the free world hahahaha and thats saying a lot!

Being in prison has actually given me the benefit of not being exposed to the divisiveness out there and has allowed me to return to what I call the 90's(1990's) when people just spoke with each other face to face, all races, ages, etc. we are mostly shielded from the outside social climate and oddly enough I feel as if we are calmer and more agreeable in prison then some of the folks out in the free world. From my point of view in prison I see people on Tv (news) upset about the smallest things or taking their lives for granted or people for granted.

People are so plugged into there vision/version of how life should be or could be they dont realize that they're doing more harm then good, by imposing their views/versions instead of stopping to communicate and have healthy genuine conversations about what they can agree upon.

Inside here its surprisingly refreshing to be able to speak to people face to face rather then through text or emojis, it feels human. Maybe we all should put down our devices and talk to each other face to face more, often we may find we have a lot more in common then the media tells us.

Now I know that sounds overly optimistic but hey what else is there.

God is something America has lost.

I thank God for my outlook in here, through depression, loneliness and missing everyone on a daily basis.

God has given and maintained my optimism, he has shown me there is so much to be grateful for even in a place like this. That even when everything and everyone is ripped from your/my life I still have so much to be grateful for!

We are so lucky to have a big family, good friends and faith in God that has made it that much easier for me to cope with my lot and press on with optimism and hope. Don't get me wrong its been nothing short of hell for me and I am sure the entire family but I am grateful for all of you!:))

God is good!!:))

God bless America!

217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page